top of page
Jasmine C. Belle

I believe in the power of romance to bring happiness and hope into people’s lives.

  • good
  • twti
Subscribe to Get Updates Right to Your E-mail!
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Top 5 Lesbian Fiction From 2016 and a "Thank You"

2016 was the year that I discovered (Really Discovered) the world of Lesbian Fiction.

And it changed my life.

It’s been my dream for years to write lesbian romance for people like myself who wanted to see themselves in love stories, to see that hope and happiness, to see that dreams really do come true.

For years I told my friends and family that I wanted to be like Nora Roberts, the Lesbian Nora Roberts, and flood bookshelves with colourful, joyful titles.

But everything is different now.

Ever since I devoured each and every one of Gerri Hill’s novels.

Ever since I borrowed a Melissa Brayden novel from the library.

Ever since my kindle started bursting at the seams with ARC’s and books bought with that dangerous “Buy with 1-Click” feature on Amazon.

Ever since I started buying paperback copies of my favourite stories because the electronic version just isn’t enough.

Suddenly my dream of becoming the Lesbian Nora Roberts was possible.

There was a whole new world of publishing houses and authors to discover.

My books could have a home and an audience.

And suddenly I didn’t want to be the Lesbian Nora Roberts anymore.

I wanted to be as prolific and captivating as Gerri Hill.

I wanted to write gripping historical fiction like Jae.

I wanted to bring my characters home and set a book in Canada like Michelle Teichman.

Brilliant YA like Emily O’Beirne. Heart wrenching drama like G. Benson. Sweet romance like Aurora Rey.

2016 was the year I discovered lesbian fiction and it was the year I discovered that all my dreams are possible thanks to the incredible women who share their incredible stories with the world.

So thank you. From the bottom of my heart. Thank you.

1. Built to Last by Aurora Rey (April 2016)

Because she is my hero.

Do I need another reason?

Because there is something magical about the way that she writes that makes every book of hers the very best book you’ve ever written.

Olivia moves to upstate New York and becomes the owner of a beautiful old Farmhouse that needs a good deal of TLC. She hires Joss, whose family owns a local construction business, to help with the renovations. They get off on the wrong foot but before too long it becomes obvious that they can’t stay away from each other even if they tried.

The romance is sweet and sexy and has just the right amount of drama. Our leading ladies are irresistible. Olivia with those dresses and a figure to die for and the brilliant mind behind it all. Joss with that sexy tool belt and the biggest heart you can think of. The supporting characters are colourful and fun as well. The food featured in this novel is amazing. And damn, it was so satisfying reading about the renovations and the progress being made. So many times I wanted to just dive into the book and help with painting or sanding or pulling staples.

2. Rescue Me by Michelle Teichman (October 2016)

Because of women in uniform and brilliant action and beautiful Muskoka.

Kristen is an undercover RCMP officer in the Toronto Police Department where she is investigating the suspicious deaths of two Rookie officers. Ashleigh is a new paramedic and discovers early on that there's a feud between Toronto PD and EMTs. She and Kristen clash time after time before falling into a tentative friendship. But, will their love story prevail through the most important investigation of Kristen's career?

This book had everything. Drama. Action (Definitely, probably, some of the best action scenes I’ve ever read). Romance (The chemistry was off the charts). And I loved, loved, loved that it was set in Canada. I’m so proud! Can you tell?

3. Shaken to the Core by Jae (June 2016)

Because this novel made me fall in love with historical fiction again. It’s been years and I’ve missed it like a dear old friend.

The beautiful story of Kate and Giuliana takes place over just a few days, against the harrowing backdrop of the earthquake in San Francisco in 1906. Kate is from a wealthy family and Giuliana was her maid. They couldn’t be from more different worlds. But the lines between them blur and the connection between the two women grows stronger as they try to save each other’s lives and learn how to survive in their new reality.

This book is full of strong, independent women who kicked some butt. I loved it! The historical details were brilliant and vivid and sometimes it felt like you were right there with them struggling to breathe through the smoke and the dust.

It's a love story that knows no place, or gender or time. It's just Kate and Giuliana. It's just meant to be.

4. Poppy Jenkins by Clare Ashton (June 2016)

Because this surprised me!

This story snuck onto the list at the last minute. It is one of the most beautifully written stories I’ve read in a long time. It read like one of Poppy’s mum’s paintings (a cheerful one however).

Poppy Jenkins lives a simple life, working in a café and spending time with her family. But when Rosalyn Thorn arrives back in town Poppy’s peaceful existence is turned on its head. The two girls were best friends until the age of sixteen when Rosalyn turned her back on Poppy and never looked back. Until now. Why is Rosalyn back in town? And can they mend what happened in the past? Will friendship perhaps spark into something more?

This book weaves together flashbacks with the present day and brings you on an emotional journey through the lives of Poppy and Rosalyn. It made me laugh and boy-oh-boy did it ever made me cry.

This book is special. Go find out.

5. Rewriting the Ending by H.P. Tune (April 2016)

Because Mia and Juliet may just be my new favourite blonde and brunette couple.

Juliet and Mia meet by chance in an airport and spend the next 24 hours in various airplanes and airports getting to know one another. Those 24 hours make their mark and when the two women go their separate ways (for now) a friendship has been born. Mia travels to her family estate in Scotland while Juliet heads to Belgium where she hopes to make some progress on her second novel. Their friendship grows as they work through life’s many challenges.

I loved this novel. True, I loved all of these novels, but there was something about this one that had my captive attention from the very first page. I loved the travelling. I loved the soul searching. I loved their lengthy chats. I loved visiting Scotland though the author’s words. I loved every single little wonderful detail - from Mia's painted toes in flipflops, to the cover of Juliet's novel. Their love is something special and I encourage you to go discover it for yourself.

Honorary Mention: Punk like Me by JD Glass (Originally published 2006 and re-released December 2016)

Because I wish I had read this book when I was sixteen. It would have changed my life. It still changed my life.

I don't want to simply call this a coming of age story because it feels like so much more than that. Nina is sixteen years old and balancing school, family, a boyfriend, swim team, and her best friend Kerry. But that balance is shifted one day when a playful joke between friends turns into something real. Real kisses. Real feelings. Feelings she didn't know she had or what to do with them. Nina stays true to herself throughout the novel as we follow her through the new challenges and wonders her life brings. Her integrity and her strength are both beautiful and inspiring.

The author paints an extremely realistic but also beautiful picture of what it's like to kiss a girl for the first time, to be with a girl for the first time, and all the wonders it brings.

bottom of page